forgot password?


   
 
Ridiculously Elaborate Internet Scam
Posted: 10 October 2008 12:56 PM   [ Ignore ]  
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  125
Joined  2008-07-26

I’ve recently uncovered a ridiculously elaborate internet scam while shopping around for a MacBook on Craig’s List. I’m still in disbelief that people would go to these lengths to steal people’s hard earned money.

While on Craig’s List I spotted a post for a black MacBook for $400.00. I thought “This sounds way to good to be true!” but I decided to investigate this “awesome” deal anyway. Remember the old saying; If it sounds too good to be true, it probably is. I sent an email stating that I was interested in buying the laptop and waited for a response. The next day I received this reply:

“Bold Dreamer” <amy28.1979d@hotmail.com>

10/03/2008 04:30 AM
 
Subject
  Re: 13” MacBook, 2,16 Ghz Core 2 Duo, 2 Gb memory, 120 Gb HD - $400

Hello,

The laptop is still available and I hope you are still interested. My name is Amy and I am now in Manchester, U.K.
This machine has been used for professional needs over the past 13 Months, it is in great condition and runs perfectly, and beyond evidence of normal use the laptop is in perfect shape. The warranty is good until August 2009 and it is fully transferable. One more thing, it works on US voltage so you do not need a converter.
I have attached some pics with the laptop to this e-mail so you can see the condition of the laptop.
Please get back to me and let me know if you like the laptop if you’re really interested in buying it.

Thanks,
Amy

Read Article

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 October 2008 06:23 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  151
Joined  2008-07-28

I got one I’ll sell you for $350. Here’s all you do. Click here. If nothing happens within five seconds, get an envelope and send me the cash in small non-consecutive unmarked bills. I will then give the mac, which is brand new, never used, in the original box, to a guy I met the other day who works for microsoft. He seems very, very trustworthy. He’ll deliver the mac to you that day! Isn’t he nice? If there are any problems, which I’m sure there won’t be, trust me this guy is cool, I’ll give you his phone number so you two can sort it out. Let me know when you send the money because like fifteen people have begged me to sell them the computer for even more money, but I wanted to offer it you guys first.

 Signature 

I’m Don Dequasie, the wheelie popper you’ve been hearing about. Check out my website http://www.deckerscreekimaging.com. Have a great day.
Check out my new thing http://www.540photo.com. It’s cool.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 October 2008 12:08 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]  
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  125
Joined  2008-07-26

That’s funny Don. Man, seriously people suck sometimes. It pissed me off when I figured this one out. I wonder how many people have been stung by this. Hopefully now that stumble upon picked this up it’ll save people some money.

Hi stumble upon crowd! If you have something to say about this, post it. I’d like to see what you all think… Thanks for stopping by.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 November 2008 07:10 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]  
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2008-11-19

Hey all, yeah i had a nicechit chat with this woman for a while,
I just kinda played around until she sent me the link for “money gram” status payment
and so i decided to let the relationship and bond that was built between Bold Dream and I
fall apart because i dont like [her]. wink

This is a pretty elaborate scam _especially_ for craigslist.
Seriously this is definitely above the bar compared to anything else i have seen on craigslist.
Normally craigslist uses the really crappy go to this link scams.
This was a breathe of fresh air raspberry

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 December 2008 08:10 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]  
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2008-12-03

So, I just stumbled on this site by searching for Bold Dream’s email address in google…

I know you guys don’t know me, but I was taken by her… I’m a retard, I know… I’ve never done anything like this in the past and am usually pretty good about spotting scams… this one snuck by me, though… I sent her $400 and she never said one more word to me… I assume it’s a she because of the amount of BITCH she possesses… sorry about the profanity…

Anyone been had by someone or something like this?  What do you normally do?  Just sit back, take it in the rear for a little while and learn from your mistakes?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 December 2008 01:03 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]  
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  125
Joined  2008-07-26

oldirtdog,

Don’t fret it. I’ve been stung before, and I could have been stung by this one too. It’s a pretty awful feeling once you realize that you’ve been duped. You’re mad and ashamed - and feel kinda vulnerable too. It feels good to let it out, so yeah it’s cool to say that bold dreamer is a bitch.. The silver lining is knowing that you’re that much more on the ball when it comes to these types of scams. I wish I had used Google to prevent my loss when I got ripped off, but you live and learn. You can turn this over to your local law enforcement. It might help. Aside from the scam stuff though…

Welcome to Studio Shadowlight!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 May 2009 12:07 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]  
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2009-05-04

And to go even deeper, if you pay close attention, there are some discrepancies with the laptop specs. in “Amy’s” original e-mail it said that the Mac book had a 2.16Ghz processor, 2GB of ram, and 120GB HD, and on the phony website, it said that it had a 2.2Ghz processor, 2 gigs of ram, and a 160GB HD. I can understand the processor discrepancy, i get lazy sometimes and round up, but did the hard drive just magically gain 40gigs of space? pathetic the extent people go to.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 May 2009 10:46 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]  
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  125
Joined  2008-07-26

Good eye KAIKARDEN! I hadn’t noticed that.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 May 2009 10:50 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]  
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2009-05-04

:D thank you.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 May 2009 11:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]  
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  125
Joined  2008-07-26

Wow! Quick reply! Let me ask you something Kai, how did you notice that? 500,000 people have read this article and you were the first to pick up on it. Pretty slick.  wink

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 May 2009 11:30 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]  
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2009-05-04

Well I will admit, I am a bit of a tech nerd my self raspberry. Build computers for a hobby and i have a real knack for being picky when it comes to computer parts and their specs.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 May 2009 11:46 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]  
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  125
Joined  2008-07-26

Cool beans. Well, thanks to your hobby, you beat over a half a million people in pointing out another important discrepancy here. That’s pretty huge in my opinion.

LOL

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 December 2009 02:14 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]  
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  125
Joined  2008-07-26

Something smells like spam.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 December 2009 07:50 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  151
Joined  2008-07-28

Spamola. Spamware accounts run the risk of getting oopsidentally deleted in certain cyberzones.

 Signature 

I’m Don Dequasie, the wheelie popper you’ve been hearing about. Check out my website http://www.deckerscreekimaging.com. Have a great day.
Check out my new thing http://www.540photo.com. It’s cool.

Profile